The 57 constituencies include 24 in the Seemanchal region bordering West Bengal and spread over nine districts of Madhubani, Darbhanga, Supual, Madhepura, Saharsa, Araria, Kisanganj, Purnea and Katihar.
A total of 1,55,43,594 electors are eligible to vote to decide the fate of 827 candidates, including 58 women. Prominent among those whose fate will be decided in the last phase include senior minister Bijendra Prasad Yadav of JD(U) (Supual), RJD Legislature Party Leader Siddiqui (Alinagar), Minister Narendra Narayan Yadav (Alamnagar) and Lalu Prasad's 'Man Friday" Bhola Yadav (Bahadurpur).
Except for two seats in Simri Bhaktiyarpur, polling will take place on the remaining 55 constituencies at scheduled 7 am to 5 pm, Additional Chief Electoral Officer R Lakshmanan said. In the two Naxal-hit constituencies - Simri Bhakhtiyarpur and Mahisi in Saharsa district, the poll time has been cut short by two hours and would end at 3 pm.
Like in the previous four phases there is a bitter fight between the NDA and the grand secular alliance of JD(U), RJD and Congress in all 57 seats in the fifth round. This round would also be watched keenly to see if All India Majlis-e-Ittehad-ul Muslimeen (AIMIM) of Hyderabad MP Asauddin Owaisi manages to successfully launch itself in Bihar. AIMIM has fielded six candidates in Seemanchal areas here Muslim voters are present in large number to test poll waters in Bihar.

Besides, AIMIM, impact of third front particularly Jan Adhikar Party of Madhepura MP Pappu Yadav would also be keenly watched in the Kosi belt. The Nationalist Congress Party and the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha have also fielded candidates in many constituencies in this phase.

More News on Bihar Polls 2015

Latest News  from Bihar News Desk