BJP's national vice president Renu Devi said, "The BJP will put up its own candidates from 160 constituencies." She said her party wanted to contest 170 seats but had decided to bring down the number by 10 in view of the demands made by the three allies. "We will not give more than 83 seats to the LJP, RLSP and HAM," she said.

She said the final seat sharing will be announced within a week. "We will also announce our candidates by September 15," she said.

Last month, leaders of the Lok Janshakti Party and the Rashtriya Lok Samata Party said the BJP must contest 102 seats and leave 141 to be split up among its three allies.


Latest News from State News Desk