Shimla: The ruling BJP in Himachal Pradesh, on Monday announced the names of 11 more candidates for the upcoming November 4 assembly elections.

BJP 's first list (click here)

With the announcement, the party has so far declared candidates for 56 out of 68 assembly seats. In its first list on September 28, the BJP had earlier released the names of 45 candidates.

The decision on remaining 12 seats is likely to be made by Tuesday after BJP parliamentary party meet. BJP president Nitin Gadkari will take the final decision on the remaining seats.

So far, 13 new faces have got the opportunities to contest upcoming assembly polls.  BJP has fielded two other MLAs who are supporting state government.

Notably, the party has fielded Prem Thakur from general seat Kasumpti for the first time. IAS officer Prem Singh Drek has been nominated from the Rampur (SC). The party once again reposed faith in Vikram Thakur and Mangal Chaudhary.

The BJP has fielded only 5 women candidates in the assembly polls. The four sitting MLAs figuring in the list are: Renu Chaddha, Vinod Chandel, Urmil Thakur and Sarveen Chaudhary. However, the saffron party has provided 50 percent reservations to them in the panchayati raj.


Latest News from India News Desk