Samajwadi Party has nominated Gaurav Swaroop, son of the ex-Uttar Pradesh minister Chitranjan Swaroop whose death last year necessitated the by-election to the constituency.

RLD has nominated its woman candidate Mithilesh Pal while Congress has fielded Salman Saeed. Returning officer Rajender Singh had earlier announced that the last date for filing the nomination for the by-polls is January 27 and the scrutiny of nomination papers will be
taken up on January 28.

The counting of votes will be held on February 16 and the result will be declared on February 18. 312 polling stations have been set up in the constituency where more than three lakh voters including 1,54,055 women would be eligible to exercise their franchise, according to
District Magistrate Nikhil Chand Shukla.

Ahead of the polls, security has been tightened in the collectorate  compound with extra police force deployed. Muzaffarnagar goes to polls along with Bikapur in Faizabad and Deoband in Saharanpur, all the constituencies were held by the Samjawadi Party.

Latest News from Uttar Pradesh News Desk