In its worst ever performance in the desert state, Congress could manage just 21 seats out of the 199 for which polling was held while BJP secured 162 seats.
Election officials said that BJP won 162 seats, Congress 21, Independents 7, NPP 4, BSP 3 and others 2.
All but three of the 19 ministers of the Congress government, bit the dust.
State BJP president and party's chief ministerial candidate Vasundhara Raje won from Jhalarpatan defeating Congress candidate Meenakshi Chandrawat with a margin of 60,896.
Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot won Sardarpura seat by defeating his nearest rival Shambhusingh Khetasar of BJP by a margin of 18,478 votes.
Accepting defeat, Gehlot submitted his resignation to Governor Margaret Alva at Raj Bhawan on Sunday evening.
"I humbly accept the defeat and congratulate the winners. We will analyse what went wrong. We will see what were our sins and what were their good deeds which led to the defeat," he said after his party was routed.
Gehlot said, "If there is an undercurrent, there is no counter to it. I feel....the public has voted on the basis of an undercurrent."
Congress had won 96 seats in the 2008 assembly polls when it had wrested power from Raje while BJP had 78 seats.
"The people of Rajasthan were tired of non-governance of Congress. It is something that follows from Delhi also. Therefore, Narendra Modi is a very big factor because people have seen what he has done in Gujarat," Raje said.
Several political heavyweights, including Rajasthan Congress Chief Chandrabhan and Assembly Speaker Deependra Singh, failed to save their seats.
Chandrabhan was defeated by Independent candidate Narendar Kumar on Mandawa constituency with a margin of 17,118 votes.
Chandrabhan resigned from the PCC post after the party's defeat in the state polls.
Deependra Singh lost Srimadhopur constituency in Sikar district to BJP candidate Jhabar Singh Kharra with a margin of 7,902 votes.
Rajasthan Health Minister Aimaduddin Ahmad Khan lost Tijara seat in Alwar and stood at third position. The seat was won by BJP's Maman Singh who defeated his nearest rival of BSP's Fazal Hussain.
Tourism minister Bina Kak was defeated by BJP candidate Madan Rathore on Sumerpur constituency in Pali district.     BJP's Bhairaram Chaudhary won Osian constituency in Jodhpur and defeated Leela Maderna, wife of Mahipal Maderna, former minister who is jail in Bhanwari Devi abduction and murder case.
BJP candidate Jagat Singh, son of Natwar Singh, won Kaman seat of Bharatpur district by defeating Congress candidate Jayada Khan with a margin of 3,400 votes.
NPP Convener Kirori Lal Meena won from Lalsot seat in Dausa district defeating his nearest rival Parsadi Lal Meena (Congress) by a margin of 491 votes.
JD(U), SP, CPI and LSP failed to open their account this time.



Latest News from India News Desk