New Delhi: In a move designed to fend off anti-incumbency in the upcoming Uttarakhand assembly polls, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has denied assembly ticket to one minister and nine incumbent party legislators.

The MLAs who have been denied tickets include Shalaindra Rawat, Anil Nautial, GS Shah, Kuldeep, Prem Agarwal among others.

The party’s Central Election Committee on Monday issued first list of 48 candidates for the 70-seat Uttarakhand assembly. It also issued a list of 81 candidates for the UP assembly election.

Meanwhile, the party announced that Uttarakhand Chief Minister Bhuwan Chandra Khanduri and ex- chief minister Ramesh Nishank will contest from Kotdwar and Doiwala respectively.

The party has given one more chance to six ministers and 10 other legislators by giving them tickets.

The MLAs who are rewarded with second chance are Matwar Singh Kandari, Trivendra Singh Rawat, Bishan Singh Tufal, Surendra Jeena, Prakash Pant, Ajat Tamta among others.

According to sources, the party may deny tickets to some more incumbent MLAs in Uttarakhand.