New Delhi: The intensive effort put by the BJP to attain victory in the Uttar Pradesh assembly elections has fallen flat.  The poll calculations made under the leadership of party President Nitin Gadkari seems to have back fired for the party. Its strategy to field Uma Bharti and induction of tainted BSP minister Babu Singh Kushwaha boomeranged for the BJP.

Election 2012 touted as the mini General Election before the finals in 2014, turned out to be a nail-biter. Despite thriving hard to gain maximum number of seats in the 403 members Legislative Assembly of UP the BJP’s performance has been far below expectations.

In spite of the tall claims made by the BJP to attaining a dominant position in the state, the party failed to present itself as an alternative to regional parties like the BSP and SP who have a stronghold in the state.

 The party members believe that they failed to connect with the electorate. The BJP faced thumping defeat in many important constituencies including Lucknow, where it had pinned its hopes.

Trying to poach into the umbrella of social alliance forged by the BSP, the BJP’s overdose of taking non-Yadav backward class into its camp proved to be expensive. More so, discord within the party over induction of Kushwaha played a key role in BJP’s defeat.

Surprisingly, it failed to touch the 2007 assembly election figure where it rolled victory in 51 seats. Party stalwarts like UP state unit President Surya Pratap Shahi, Kesari Nath Tripathi, Ramapati Ram Tripathi and Om Prakash Singh had to face defeat.

The BJP continued to grope in dark in deciding its Chief Ministerial candidates and kept the electorate in illusion. The BJP fought the Uttar Pradesh election by projecting four leaders for chief ministerial position. In eastern part of the state Surya Pratap Shahi was projected as CM, in Awadh region Kalraj Mishra and Uma Bharti in Bundelkhand region.