Elections will be held on 20 assembly seats in the final phase. Both the BJP and the Congress are jostling to come to power in the state by winning more number of seats in this phase. Out of 20 seats, 11 spread accross Jammu district.

In the last assembly polls in 2008, the BJP won seven seats out of 11. The Congress registered victory in three constituencies, while the Jammu State Morcha won one seat.

Jammu State Morcha MLA Ashwini Sharma switched his loyalty to the BJP ahead of assembly polls. The BJP sees Bishnah as its potential seat.

Meanwhile, the National Conference (NC) has also its influence in the Jammu region. The presence of NC has made fight triangular in Bishnah, Nagrota, Madh and Suchetgarh. The party has won Madh and Nagrota assembly seats in the past.

In the previous assembly polls, the victory margin was around 2000 votes on these seats which are likely to witness tough fight this time too.

Duputy Chief Minister and Congress leader Tarachand defeated BJP candidate by a margin of 2395 votes in Chhamb assembly constituency.

Congress candidate Raman Bhalla won Gandhi Nagar seat by a margin of around 2263 votes against BJP nominee, while BJP's Jugal Kishor defeated NC candidate by around 1620 votes. Similarly, BJP candidate Garu Ram defeated Congress nominee by 1630 votes on RS Pura seat.

Interesting fight was witnessed in Bishnah where Ashini Sharma defeated NC's Kamal Verma by a margin of mere 446 votes. Ashiwini Sharma is in direct fight with Kamal Verma.

Latest News from Jammu and Kashmir News Desk