He came up with improved show in 1998 when he helped the party to hoist the saffron flag at Jaunpur in 1999 but experienced slide on the same seat in 2004 by finishing fourth.

The senior BJP leader is keen to contest Parliamentary polls again but the party is yet to find a suitable seat to accommodate as candidate.

BJP’s saffron brigade, who are keen to contest LS elections are emerging as challenge of sorts for the principal Opposition party. One of the major names associated with Ram Mandir movement, Ram Vilas Vedanti won from Machhlishahr and Pratapgarh in 1996 and 1998 respectively.

In 1999, Vedanti contested from Machhlishahr again finished fourth. The BJP leader tasted similar fate in Amethi in 2004. The BJP is however yet to decide over Vedanti’s seat.

Swami Sachidanand Hari Sakshi played a key role in boosting BJP’s fortunes in 90s by winning from Mathura in 1991 and Farrukhabad in 1996 and 1998. However, he campaigned for Samajwadi Party in 1999 for which the party rewarded him with Rajya Sabha membership.

His last outing as BJP candidate from Bhogaon in Mainpuri however failed to script any success story. The name of BJP national vice-president and Charkhari MLA Umar Bharti is making rounds in different constituencies like Jhansi, Amroha, Aligarh and Unnao. As she has been made in-charge of party’s Uttarakhand affairs, it’s being speculated that she may contest from Haridwar as well.   

Nothing is yet clear about BJP MLA from Hamirpur Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti as well. Though the party gave her responsibility of Hamirpur Parliamentary seat, she is more interested in trying her political fortunes from Fatehpur.

BJP MLA from Balha in Bahraich Savirti Bai Fule is interested to contest Lok Sabha polls as well and has already thrown her hat for party ticket. The party is mulling her winnability on this parliamentary seat.

Yogi Aadityanath, who has held BJP’s fort intact since 1998 in Gorakhpur, is certain to contest LS polls but the party will consider his recommendations while selecting candidates for surrounding constituencies.


Latest News from India News Desk