Ranchi: The by-elections for the Jamshedpur parliamentary seat will witness an intriguing battle amongst three allies of the ruling alliance at Jharkhand.

Unwilling to budge from their stand, the three partners of the ruling alliance in the state including Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) and All Jharkhand Students Union (AJSU) have fielded their candidates for Jamshedpur parliamentary seat recently vacated by Chief Minister Arjun Munda. 

Albeit, it is not the only alliance which will witness a tough fight amongst the coalition group members for the by-polls. Even United Progressive Alliance (UPA) faces a similar position as Congress and Trinamool Congress both are in the fray from the seat.

Election Commission rejected the nomination of three candidates on the last date of withdrawal of nomination on Friday. Following which 20 candidates including 13 independents are in the race for the by-poll.

Dr. Dineshanand Goshwami of BJP, Sudhir Mahato of JMM, Astik Mahato of AJSU, Banna Gupta of Congress, Dr. Ajay Kumar of JVM, Sapan Ghoshal of CPI, Suman Mahato of Trinamool Congress and 13 Independent candidates are contesting the Jamshedpur Lok Sabha seat, which was vacated by Chief Minister Arjun Munda.

Despite repeated efforts to woo the allies, Munda failed to convince the allies for a common candidate for the high profile parliamentary seat.

Munda visited JMM supremo Shibu Soren, who turned down CM’s request to withdraw party candidate from Jamshedpur seat citing the party pressure and political demand.

On basis of the overwhelming public support it is enjoying in state, AJSU too has decided to contest the by-election, while BJP has already claimed its stake citing its leader has vacated the seat.