According to sources, the top BJP leadership has cleared the decks for Mahajan’s name.

Apart from Mahajan, the other names doing the rounds for the post was Karia Munda (Deputy Speaker in the 15th Lok Sabha), senior party leaders Lal Krishna Advani and Murli Manohar Joshi.

This move is now seen as another setback for Advani, who had expressed his willingness to take up the post.

Popularly known as 'Tai', Mahajan, the longest serving woman parliamentarian, had won from Indore by a great margin of 4,66,301 votes against Congress' Satyanarayan Patel.

Mahajan has surpassed West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, who was chosen as Lok Sabha MP for seven times. She won Lok Sabha elections for the first time in 1989 against former chief minister and senior Congress leader Prakash Chandra Sethi.

If appointed, Mahajan will be the second woman Speaker of the Lower House of Parliament after Congress leader and former Sasaram MP Meira Kumar.

Meanwhile, there are also reports that senior lawyers Uday Lalit and Mukul Rohatgi are the contenders for the post of Attorney General.


Latest News from India News Desk