The polling in the constituency will take place on15th October. "Rudra Madhab Ray will be our candidate from Kandhamal. The central election committee of the party has approved his name," a senior BJP leader said.

The 77-year-old was named the party candidate a day after he joined the BJP.

Ray was a member of the state legislative assembly for three terms between 1990 and 2009 before being elected to the Lok Sabha on a Biju Janata Dal (BJD) ticket in 2009.

The BJD, however, denied him a ticket in the 2014 Lok Sabha polls and later suspended him for anti-party activities.

The by-poll in Kandhamal was necessitated following the death of BJD's Hemendra Chandra Singh.


Latest News from State News Desk