The election committee chaired by the State BJP President, Nandkumar Singh Chouhan unanimously forwarded the name of Tripathi as the party's nominee for Maihar bypoll to the party's Central Election Panel.

The Central Election Committee will formally announce the name later in the evening, state BJP spokesman Deepak Vijaywargiya told reporters. The bypoll in Maihar will be held on February 13, while the counting of votes will take place on February 16.

Meanwhile, Congress has given ticket to former BSP leader Manish Patel, who recently joined the party to contest from Maihar.

Patel as BSP candidate bagged more than 40,000 votes in 2013 assembly polls in Maihar but lost to Congress' Narayan Tripathi, who quit the party during 2014 Lok Sabha polls.

Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) announced to field former MLA Ram Lakhan Singh Patel as its candidate for the Maihar bypoll.

Latest News from Madhya Pradesh News Desk