"I congratulate ABVP for winning all 4 panels in DUSU elections. The students & Karyakartas of DU deserve the credit," tweeted Shah, who is in Madhya Pradesh.

BJP Secretary Shrikant Sharma termed the ABVP's stunning victory a result of the "positive approach" of the party.

He said this indicates that the youth of the country are in favour of the BJP policies.

He added that the youth were the future of the country and the dream of 'Ek Bharat, Shreshta Bharat' would be achieved through them.

The ABVP, the students' wing of the BJP, won all posts of president, vice president, secretary and joint secretary, bettering last year's performance when it had lost one of the seats to the National Students Union of India (NSUI).

Mohit Nagar was elected president of DUSU while Pravesh Malik won the elections for vice president's post. Kanika Shekhawat and Ashutosh Mathur have been elected as secretary and joint secretary respectively.

Latest News from India News Desk