"We rejected the committee set by the state government. If the Speaker of Legislative Assembly formed the committee, we would have accepted it," BJP legislature party leader Basant Panda said.

Stating that the government set up the committee without consulting the state BJP President or the leader of the party's legislature party, Panda said the government picked up a name from the BJP and made him a member of the committee and the MLA concerned was not consulted.
The government recently announced the name of Nrushinga Sahu, Pramila Mallik, Manohar Randhari of BJD, Bhujabal Majhi of Congress and Nitesh Gangdev of BJP as its members.
The decision over formation of such a panel was taken at a meeting chaired by Parliamentary Affairs Minister Bikram Keshari Arukh and attended by the secretary of the Odisha Legislative Assembly and the secretary of parliamentary affairs department last week.
After the meeting, Arukh had told reporters that the committee would visit states like Karnataka and Maharashtra to study and was expected to submit its report by end of January.

Latest News from State News Desk