New Delhi: Riding on an anti-incumbency wave against the Congress, the BJP seems to be headed towards a majority in Goa where it is leading in 14 seats in the 40-member House.

The BJP leaders who have won include Ganesh Gaonkar from Sanvordem, Mahadev Naik from Siroda, Kiran Kandolkar from Tivim and Anant Shet from Maem. Ramesh Tawadkar and Nilesh Cabral are other party leaders leading from their respective constituencies.

The BJP has managed to gain seats in most of the Congress dominated constituencies like Aldona, Calangute, Sanvordem, Tivim, Vasco, Cotalim, Curchorem and others.

The BJP is leading in another four constituencies including the seat of the Leader of Opposition in the Assembly, Manohar Parrikar in Panaji. Parrikar is leading by almost 4,000 votes against Congress Yatin Parekh.

The Congress has till now got victory in four constituencies including its senior leader Pratapsingh Rane in Poriem and Atanasio Monserratte in St Cruz constituency.

The Congress is trailing in about nine seats, managing to win only in five seats. Congress heavyweights Ravi Nayak and Pratap Singh Rane are leading in Ponda and Poriem seats respectively.

Chief Minister Digamber Kamat is leading from Margao constituency by 1,300 votes.

The Congress in Goa is suffering a major embarrassment after all its major leaders suffered a defeat. The 'family raj' seems to have worked against the party as three of the candidates from Alemao family- Churchil Aleamo (Navelim), his bother Joaquim (Cuncolim) and daughter Valanka suffered defeat in Benaulim.

Similarly, Congress MLA Pandurang Madkaikar’s brother Daku Madkaikar contesting from Priol also suffered defeat at the hands of MGP.

A total of three independent candidates have won while Goa Vikas Party has won two seats.

State President Dipak Dhavalikar said the combination will stake claim to form the government. "We will form the government in the next two days," he said, adding BJP’s Parrikar is the preferred chief ministerial candidate.