Chandigarh: The underperformance of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in recently concluded assembly elections in Punjab has forced the party to find out the reasons behind the poor show. The saffron party won 12 seats in 2012 while its tally was 19 in 2007 assembly polls.

The BJP will constitute a committee comprising senior leaders in this regard. The decision was taken on Sunday in the BJP core committee meeting.

The BJP leaders pondered over the party candidates’ defeat on 13 seats. The core committee reached at the conclusion to form a committee to find out the reasons for party’s debacle.

All the committee members are expected to visit the constituencies party candidates lost. The BJP has instructed its ministers in SAD-BJP government to play important roles in giving good governance in the state.

The committee is likely to be constituted after the end of assembly session on Monday.

The names of Chief Parliamentary Secretaries have been discussed in the meeting. The meeting was attended by BJP legislative party leader Bhagat Chuni Lal, state BJP chief Ashwini Sharma, Balramji Das Tandon, Madanmohan Mittal, Prof Rajinder Bhandari, Prof Brij Lala Rinva, Tikshna Sut, Kamal Sharma and Manjit Singh.