Bangalore: Launching a counter attack on the 13 party MLAs who have announced their decision to quit their assembly membership, the ruling BJP on Monday decided to seek their disqualification for 'anti-party' activities.
Sources in the BJP said a petition would be filed on Monday with the Assembly Speaker K G Bopahiah, seeking their disqualification on the charge of 'anti-party' activities.
They said the BJP would also urge the Speaker not to accept the resignation of the 13 MLAs.
The MLAs loyal to Karnataka Janata Party chief and former BJP strongman B S Yeddyurappa are likely to meet the Speaker on Tuesday to submit their resignation letters.
Their attempt to submit their resignations to the Speaker on January 23 failed as the Speaker was not out of station, an issue which irked them and made them petition Governor H R Bhardwaj to whom they submitted copies of their resignation letters.
Bhardwaj had stated on January 26 that the Jagadish Shettar government still enjoyed a majority and as leader of the BJP legislature party, it was left left to him to take action on the issue of resignation of the 13 MLAs.


Latest News from India News Desk