New Delhi: The recent drubbing in the Assembly polls in five states has forced Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) to change its strategy and tread cautiously. Despite the differences in Karnataka BJP cadres, the party is trying to project a united effort in the state. In other states including Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand and Jammu Kashmir, BJP has decided to take up a cautious approach.

In an effort to maintain its national party status, BJP had contested the Assembly elections at West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Puducherry and Assam with full vigour, despite the fact that it had no major hold in these states. The results of the Assembly elections in these five states did not go as per the expectation of BJP leaders.

The party failed to open account at West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Kerala and Puducherry. Whereas, against the expectations, the party had a dismal performance in Assam. Though party stalwarts had claimed to form a government in Assam, BJP could barely win five seats.

A BJP senior leader who was in Assam during election campaign said, “The party failed to project itself as a Hindu party in the state, and it could not tie up with Asom Gana Parishad (AGP). Congress exploited this situation and made a dent in the BJP vote bank.” BJP candidates who projected themselves as prominent leaders connected to Delhi had to face humiliating defeat.

After the results in five states, BJP is not the favour of making major changes in other states.

The party has started the exercise to keep its flock together in Uttarakhand. Noose has been tightened around Chief Minister Dr Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank, whereas efforts are being made to convince former Chief Minister Bhagat Singh Koshyhari to take the charges of the state organisation.

At Uttar Pradesh, BJP has subdued its approach and rather than taking decision based on survey results, it is consulting senior party members. The distribution of party tickets for Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections will be done on the basis of survey results and ground realities.

The party will take strict action against seven legislatures, who were involved in cross voting during legislative council elections in Jammu & Kashmir.