New Delhi: The main Opposition party BJP has seen many high and low since its inception in 1980. With only two seats in 1984, the saffron party won 89 LS seats in 1989. In 1991, the BJP occupied the opposition benches in the Lok Sabha winning the 119 parliamentary seats. Since 1980, nine senior BJP leaders have served as the party president.

READ MORE: Rajnath takes charge as new BJP chief

Rajnath Singh returns to familiar political ptich

Here is a list of BJP presidents

Atal Bihari Vajpayee (1980 to 1986)

Atal Bihari Vajpayee was the president of BJP from 1980 to 1986. A parliamentarian for over four decades, he served as the 10th Prime Minister of India, in two non-consecutive terms, first for 13 days in 1996 and then from 1998 to 2004.

LK Advani (1986 to 1990, 1992 to 1998, 2004 to 2005)

LK Advani had served as the president of BJP for the longest period since its inception in 1980. He was the president of the party - 1986 to 1990, 1992 to 1998, 2004 to 2005. Currently, Advani is the chairman of the BJP parliamentary party.

Murli Manohar Joshi (1990 to 1992)

MM Joshi, known for his views on Indian socio-politics and for his affiliation with the Rashtriya Swayamsewak Sangh, was the BJP president from 1990 to 1992.

Late Kushabhau Thakre (1998 to 2000)

During the time of BJP’s inception, Kushabhau Thakre was appointed as a national secretary. On April 14, 1998 he was elected as the president of BJP. In August 2000, he stepped down from this post. He died on December 28, 2003 at the age of 81

Bangaru Laxman (2000 to 2001)

Bangaru Laxman, jailed during emergency in 1975, served as the party president from 2000 to 2001.

Late K Jana Krishnamurthy (2001 to 2002)

K Jana Krishnamurthy was the first Tamilian to head a national party. He served as the president of BJP from 2001 to 202. Krishnamurthi died on 25 September 2007.

Muppavarupu Venkaiah Naidu (2002 to 2004)

M Venkaiah Naidu served was the president of the BJP from 2002 to 2004. Currently he is the member of Rajya Sabha from Karnataka.

Rajnath Singh (2005 to 2009)

Rajnath Singh, who was the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh from 28 October 2000 to 8 March 2002, had served as the BJP resident from 2005 to 2009.

Nitin Gadkari (2009 to January 23, 2013)

Nitin Gadkari was appointed as the BJP chief BJP in December 2009 after the saffron party suffered a defeat in the Lok Sabha election held earlier in the same year. Well known for the works during his tenure as a PWD Minister in Maharashtra, Gadkari was forced to quit from the post on January 23, 2013, after his name got mired in a controversy related to his Purti Group.

The BJP on Wednesday officially announced Rajnath Singh as the new party president at the party office in Delhi. Rajnath Singh’s tenure as BJP president will end in 2015. Eighteen nomination papers were filled on behalf of Rajnath Singh and all of them were found to be valid.


Latest News from India News Desk