BJP President Amit Shah held a meeting with top party leaders from Delhi late in the evening to evolve the party's strategies for the polls.
The party expressed confidence that its victory march would continue in the national capital and it would form the next government in Delhi which can move in tandem with the Centre to ensure all-round development.
Buoyed by BJP's victory in the Delhi Cantonment Board elections today, where it won five of the eight seats, party leaders said it reflects the mood of the people in the city.
"It is clear and we hope that Delhi's mood has come out through the Delhi Cantt. results. We hope to get a good and best majority in Delhi," Delhi in-charge Prabhat Jha said.
BJP national secretary Shrikant Sharma said, "We welcome the poll announcement. We are confident of a government with majority as such a government is necessary in Delhi that can move in tandem with the Centre and ensure good governance and all-round development of Delhi."
Sharma said the party wants to see a government that can provide good governance and is corruption-free to ensure that Delhi becomes one of the best cities across the world.
"...The results of Delhi Cantonment are certainly very encouraging for us and Delhi is not untouched by the wave across the country and there will be good results in favour of the BJP," Delhi BJP chief Satish Upadhyay said.
BJP spokesperson and New Delhi MP Meenakshi Lekhi said the way 36 per cent voters voted for BJP in the last Lok Sabha elections, it is clear that BJP is going to come out with a major victory in Delhi.
Upadhyaya said BJP is ready for the polls and will come out with its candidates' list within a day or two after the party's Central Election Committee meeting. Asked whether the party will declare its chief ministerial candidate, he said BJP will contest these polls under "collective leadership".
In last Assembly polls in Delhi in 2013 December, BJP had bagged 31 seats in addition to one by its ally SAD, falling short of a simple majority in the 70-member House. AAP had won in 28 seats, followed by eight of Congress.

Latest News from States News Desk