"Amit Shah's statement on firecrackers is half truth. Except Narendra Modi and Amit Shah, all the other leaders of the Bharatiya Janata Party will burst firecrackers and celebrate Diwali this year when these two brothers will be bankrupt," JD (U) leader KC Tyagi told reporters.

The BJP president had earlier said at an election rally in Bihar that firecrackers will burst in Pakistan if his party loses the state assembly polls. "If the BJP loses in Bihar even by mistake then crackers will be burnt in Pakistan)," he said.

Meanwhile, polling is taking place for the fourth phase of the assembly elections amid tight security. Voting, which began at 7 am, will end at 5 pm In four Naxal-affected constituencies, it will conclude at 3 pm, while in 8 constituencies, voting will end at 4 pm.

Voting is taking for 55 constituencies, spread over seven districts of West Champaran, Sitamarhi, Sheohar, Muzaffarpur, Gopalganj and Siwan. 776 candidates, including 57 women, are in the fray for this phase.

Latest News from India News Desk