Bhopal: The ruling BJP in Madhya Pradesh on Friday wrested the Maheshwar assembly constituency from Congress with its nominee Rajkumar Mev winning it by a margin of over 37,000 votes.

The BJP nominee polled 83,035 votes against the 52,271 votes secured by his Congress rival, Devendra Sadho.

Devendra is the brother of Vijaylaxmi Sadho, who got elevated to the Rajya Sabha following which the bypoll was necessitated in the reserved seat.

She had defeated Mev by 673 votes in the 2008 assembly elections.

This was the last bye-election to be held in Madhya Pradesh before the 2013 assembly polls.


Latest news from Madhya Pradesh News Desk