Lucknow: With a motto of making Uttar Pradesh a crime, corruption free and developmental state, the BJP would initiate the Jan Chetna Yatra from Mathura and Varanasi on Thursday.

The yatra which would be held in two phases would be started from Mathura under the flagmanship of party's former national president Rajnath Singh, in Varanasi the responsibility would be handled by party’s vice president Kalraj Mishra.

The yatra would end in November 17 where both the yatra would reach Ayodhya to participate in a mass rally.

The yatra led by Rajnath Singh would be flagged off by Leader of Opposition in Lok Sabha Sushma Swaraj and Janata Dal-U president Sharad Yadav and Kalraj Mishra’s yatra would be kick-started by LK Advani.

The state media in-charge Narendra Singh informed that the first phase of the yatra will be held between October 13 and 22 and the second phase of the yatra would start from November 9 and end on November 17.   

Rajnath Singh-led yatra would pass through 34 districts, 216 constituencies while the Kalraj Mishra led yatra would cover 154 assembly constituencies of 27 districts.

(JPN/ Bureau)