Ahmedabad: The BJP, Congress and GPP candidates’ prestige is at stake in politically important Saurashtra region which sends 52 MLAs to the Gujarat Assembly.

GPP patron and former Chief Minister Keshubhai Patel have made the election triangular on over 18 seats, while Congress’ decision to field three Lok Sabha MPs made it quite interesting.

In 2007 assembly poll, the BJP bagged 38 seats in seven districts Amreli, Rajkot, Jamnagar, Bhavnagar, Junagadh, Porbandar and Surendranagar in Saurashtra, while the Congress registered victories on 13 seats.

Congress stalwart Vithal Radria, Somabhai Patel and Kunwarji Bavaria represent Porbandar, Surendranagar and Rajkot in the Lok Sabha respectively. Congress has fielded all three leaders for the assembly polls to mount psychological pressure on the BJP.

Gujarat Congress president Arjun Modhwadia is contesting from Porbandar, while Leader of Opposition in the House Shaktisinh Gohil is trying his luck from Bhavnagar Rural.  

BJP president RC Faldu has been fielded from Jamnagar Rural and high profile minister Vasuben Trivedi is trying hard to reach assembly from Jamnagar South.

Former minister Jasumati Korat, Mudubhai Vera and Mahendra Mashru are contesting from Jetpur, Jamnagar North and Junagadh assembly constituencies respectively.

GPP is likely to make a dent in the BJP fiefdom. Keshubhai Patel himself is pitted against Kanubhai Bhalala, while his close aide and GPP general secretary Gordhan Jhadphia is contesting from Gondal.


Latest News from India News Desk