While Rijiju polled 1,69,367 votes, Sanjoy could manage to bag 1,27,629 votes followed by Jalley Sonam (PPA, 13,892 votes), Habung Payeng (AAP, 3,508), Gumjum Haidar (TMC, 8,817), Gicho Kabak (NCP, 5,875), Taba Taku (Lok Bharti, 941) and Subu Kechi (Independent, 2,322).

A total of 1,798 voters opted for the ‘None Of The Above’ option.

In 2009, both Sanjoy and Ering had won their seats by a margin of 1,314 and 68,449 votes, respectively.

BJP had wrested both seats, known to be Congress bastions, in 2004 when the party's candidates, Rijiju and Gao, won by margins of 47,424 votes in Arunachal West and 44,994 in Arunachal East, respectively.

According to political analysts here, the anti-incumbency factor was the main reason behind Congress's loss in the Arunachal West seat.


Latest News from State News Desk