The longest serving woman parliamentarian was elected to the top post after Prime Minister Narendra Modi proposed her name and it was seconded by BJP patriarch Lal Krishna Advani and Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh among many others.

Seventeen motions were moved from members from different parties including Modi. The leaders of Congress, AIADMK, Lok Janshakti Party, Shiv Sena, TDP, YSR Congress, TRS, Samajwadi Party, Shiromani Akali Dal, NCP, TMC, JD(S) and BJD also moved the motions in her favour.

Modi, Kharge congratulate Sumitra Mahajan

The Prime Minister and Mallikarjun Kharge, who is the leader of Opposition in Lok Sabha, congratulated the new Speaker.
Addressing the Lok Sabha, Modi said it was a matter of pride for world’s largest democracy that a woman was going to take over the state of affairs in the Lower House.

“It is a matter of great pride that a woman is the Speaker of this Parliament, which represents the largest democracy in the world,” said Modi.

"There are 315 new members in the house. This means we can leave some old traditions behind and start some new traditions. We can take the great traditions of the past forward; this new blood has the opportunity to present a strong (picture of) democracy in front of the world," he added.

Modi further said Mahajan’s experience would provide guidance to many first-time MPs in the Lok Sabha.

READ MORE: Soft-spoken Speaker Sumitra 'tai' is a battle hardened MP

“It's a great moment for you to have risen from a municipal councilor to an 8-time MP,” Modi said.

The Prime Minister also congratulated all the MPs and political parties for supporting the decision to appoint Mahajan as the Speaker of Lok Sabha.

Opposition leader Kharge also extended his congratulations to Mahajan on behalf of the Congress party and the entire opposition.

While praising her work ethic and suave persona, Kharge said Mahajan’s jovial nature and hardworking attributes have always impressed him and every MP in the Lok Sabha.

72-year-old Mahajan is the second woman in Indian history to be appointed as the Lok Sabha Speaker. Congress leader Meira Kumar, who presided over the House for the last five years, was the first.


Latest News from India News Desk