London: Middle-order batsman Ravi Bopara has been recalled to the England squad in place of an injured Jonathan Trott for the third Test against India starting from August 10 at Edgbaston.

The Essex player was summoned as Trott failed to regain full fitness after landing heavily on his shoulder while fielding during second Test at Trent Bridge. England squad also consists of lanky pacer Steven Finn who has been brought on as a cover for Chris Tremlett who is recovering from hamstring injury.

Bopara, who played the last of his ten Tests against Australia in August 2009, has been in good form of late having scored 178 for Essex against Leicestershire in a County game. He is likely to bat at No 6 as Ian Bell is certain to bat at No 3 after his brilliant 159 in the second innings.

Bopara has scored 502 runs from 10 Tests at an average of shade above 33 with three centuries. Another strong contender for the slot was uncapped Leicestershire batsman James Taylor who recently scored 98 for England Lions against Sri Lanka at Scarborough on Friday.

"We have seen some very pleasing performances during the first two npower Test matches," said the national selector, Geoff Miller. "But there is still plenty more to do in this series and the squad and management will be determined to carry the momentum from recent weeks through to the remaining two Tests and push for a comprehensive series victory.

"Ravi Bopara comes in for Jonathan Trott who is continuing his rehabilitation from his shoulder injury," confirmed Miller.

The selector also informed that Finn has been included for safety although Tremlett is well and truly on his way to recovery. "Tremlett is recovering well from the back spasms that ruled him out of the second Test and although we are expecting him to be fully fit ahead of Wednesday, we felt it was prudent to include an extra seam bowler at this stage meaning Steven Finn comes into the squad."

Squad: Andrew Strauss (capt), Alastair Cook, Ian Bell, Kevin Pietersen, Eoin Morgan, Ravi Bopara, Matt Prior (wk), Stuart Broad, Tim Bresnan, Graeme Swann, James Anderson, Chris Tremlett, Steven Finn.