London: An impressive bowling performance powered England to the Champions Trophy summit clash as the hosts thrashed South Africa by seven wickets in the first semifinal on Wednesday.


The hosts bundled out South Africa for a meagre 175 after inserting them in to bat and then comfortably overhauled the target with 12.3 overs to spare.
Such was the domination of the England bowlers that AB de Villiers and Co found it difficult to buck the trend of faltering in major ICC tournaments.
It was complete team effort by England as all the bowlers played a part in demolishing the South African top and middle batting order.
England had their rivals on the mat as they had reduced them to 80 for 8 at one stage and Proteas owed their recovery to some gritty batting by David Miller (56), who in the company of tail-ender Rory Kleinveldt (43) added 95 runs for the ninth wicket in 16 overs.
James Anderson (2/14) and Steven Finn (1/45) excelled with the two new balls and were duly complemented by Stuart Broad (3/50) and off-spinner James Tredwell, (3/19).
England lost their openers early but Jonathan Trott (82 not out) and Joe Root (48) batted with clam and assurance to lead the hosts to the finish line. They shared a 105-run stand for the third wicket.
Trott paced innings well as he batted cautiously initially and started playing strokes once it was sure that England had reached a safe position.
It is second time that England have qualified for the Champions Trophy final. The last time they featured in the final was in 2004. That time also they had hosted the event and ended runners-up to the West Indies.
England will now play the winner of Thursday's semifinal between World Champions India and Sri Lanka in the summit clash on June 23 at Birmingham.
 Earlier, South Africa scripted a remarkable late recovery as they were down in the dumps at 80 for eight at one stage but managed to give their bowlers something to fight for.

 Teams (from):

England: Alastair Cook (c), James Anderson, Ian Bell, Ravi Bopara, Stuart Broad, Jos Buttler (wk), Steven Finn, Eoin Morgan, Joe Root, James Tredwell, Jonathan Trott.
South Africa: AB de Villiers (c & wk), Hashim Amla, J P Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Colin Ingram, Rory Kleinveldt, Ryan McLaren, David Miller, Chris Morris, Robin Peterson, Lonwabo Tsotsobe.


Latest News from Sports News Desk