Lucknow: In order to allot additional foodgrains to Below Poverty Line (BPL) families, the Uttar Pradesh government has decided to identify them in 21 selected districts of the state.

The District Collectors have been directed to identify the families in the open meeting in presence of Gram Sabha, Gram Pradhan, accountants, Panchayat Secretary, the nominated district level officers, within three months.

Based on the Supreme Court’s verdict and recommendations of Justice Wadhwa Committee, poor families under the annual income limit of Rs 60,000 in 21 districts of the state will be marked under BPL category.

He has also directed the collectors to complete the task at highest priority and asked the Food Commission to review it every week.

The list of 21 districts includes Sonbhadra, Unnao, Rae Bareli, Sitapur, Hardoi, Fatehpur, Lalitpur, Lakhimpur Kheri, Banda, Chitrakoot, Mirjapur, Kushinagar, Mahoba, Hamirpur, Barabanki, Gorakhpur, Jaunpur, Jalaun, Kaushambi, Azamgarh and Lucknow.

Besides, Collectors have also been directed to identify families with annual income of over Rs 60,000 to Rs 1lakh to provide food at APL value.