Kolkata: Brisk polling was reported within first two hours of the third phase of West Bengal Assembly elections being held in 75 constituencies of three districts, including the state capital on Wednesday.

A total of 14,419,669 people in Kolkata and the neighbouring districts of North and South 24-Parganas are eligible to elect their representatives from among 479 contestants - many of them stars from the field of politics -- including Chief Minister Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee.

Kolkata has 11 constituencies, North 24-Parganas has 33 while South 24-Parganas 31.

"Polling is going on peacefully. There are no reports of any untoward incidents. We have received some complaints from Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) and Trinamool Congress candidates and acted on them," said state Chief Electoral Officer Sunil Gupta.

Election Commission sources said 15 percent votes were cast in the first two hours since polling started at 7 a.m.

"There were some complaints of Electronic Voting Machines not functioning in a few booths. They have been replaced," said Gupta.

Among the early voters was former Lok Sabha Speaker Somnath Chatterjee, who went with his wife Renu to a booth in Rashbehari constituency in South Kolkata.

In a virtual replay of the high turnout in the first two rounds, long queues were seen outside polling booths in the three districts, which include the cosmopolitan industrial belt and the populated areas of the world's largest mangrove forest Sundarbans.

The first and second phase of elections saw around 85 percent turnout.

More than 6000 Central para-military forces have been deployed for peaceful polling in 11 seats in Kolkata, 33 in neighbouring North 24-Parganas and 31 in South 24-Parganas districts which have 17,792 polling booths.

Other prominent candidates include Finance Minister Asim Dasgupta, Housing Minister Goutam Deb, Transport Minister Ranjit Kundu, the Leader of the Opposition Partha Chatterjee, Kolkata Mayor Sovan Chatterjee, former FICCI Secretary General Amit Mitra and cinestar Debashree Roy.

The election is scheduled to end on May 10.