Bru voters, whose names are registered in the electoral rolls of Mizoram, would be allowed to exercise their franchise through postal ballot papers from April 1 to 3, Jindal said.

About 37,000 refugees in the relief camps belong to 10 assembly constituencies in Mamit, Kolasib and Lunglei districts of Mizoram, said state election department sources.

Lodged in Naisingpara, Ashapara, Hezacherra, Kaskau, Khakchangpara and Hamsapara relief camps, the Bru people had fled to Mizoram following ethnic violence in 1997-1998.


Latest News from State News Desk