One of high profile candidates in the first phase of UP Assembly polls, Parliamentary Affairs Minister Lalji Verma is contesting from prestigious Katehri seat in Ambedkarnagar district.

Verma has been instrumental in the Bahujan Samaj Party’s stunning victory in 2007 Assembly polls. The party won 206 seats out of 403 in the last elections.
The BSP stalwart won form Tanda seat in 2007 by defeating Azimul Haq of Samajwadi Party by a margin of 2455.

As the Tanda seat was demolished due to delimitation of the constituency, the Parliamentary Affairs Minister has to switch off the nearby Katehri assembly seat where he has to face tough fight from SP nominee Shankhlal Majhi.

The Congress has fielded Amit Verma from the seat while Rama Shankar is contesting on the Bharatiya Janata Party ticket.