Out of 47 seats going to polls in Uttar Pradesh, the party either won in 42 seats or finished second. Even in the seats, where the party’s caravan stopped just one mile away from crossing victory lap, Mayawati, along with other party bigwigs have invested all their energies in ensuring victory this time around.

In fact, in the 2009 general elections, though the BSP could bag only 20 seats, it finished as runner-up in 47 constituencies.

33 seats in Ruhelkhand, Western Uttar Pradesh and Samajwadi Party strongholds, where polling has already been conducted, the BSP has seven seats – Saharanpur, Kairana, Muzaffarnagar, Gautam Buddh Nagar, Aligarh, Sambhal and Fatehpur Sikri, in its tally, as of now.

The party finished second in the 18 seats out of those 33 seats. On Lucknow, Kanpur, Barabanki, Faizabad and Dumriyaganj, the party’s performance was dismal.

The party is mainly expecting a lot from Avadh and Purvanchal regions. Dismissing Modi wave, it’s confident of winning this time even in those seats where it finished second, mainly based on its own social engineering.

These regions will see a number of BSP rallies being attended by Mayawati and other senior leaders of the party.

It needs to be noted here that the party has its MPs on three seats – Sitapur, Mishrikh and Hamirpur, which, among total of 14, will go to polls on 30th April. Besides, it finished second in eight other seats.

Similarly, out of the overall seats which are slated to go to polls in the fifth phase, the party has five – Phulpur, Ambedkarnagar, Basti, Sant Kabirnagar and Baodhi in its tally and it finished as runner-up in nine others.

Also, the polls, which will be held in the sixth phase in 18 seats, the BSP had won in 2009 in Deoria, Lalganj, Ghosi, Salempur and Jaunpur and finished second in 12 seats. 


Latest News from Uttar Pradesh News Desk