The BSP has approached Rajya Sabha chairman Hamid Ansari with a plea to disqualify Baghel under the provisions of Schedule 10 (anti-defection law) for joining another party without giving up its membership of Parliament, the party said in a statement.

Baghel had joined the BJP in presence of party’s state in-charge Amit Shah in Lucknow on Saturday.

Baghel was elected to the Rajya Sabha as a BSP candidate in 2012 and his term is to end on July 4, 2016.

He had won Lok Sabha elections on Samajwadi Party ticket in 1998, 1999 and 2004 from Jalesar. He left the Samajwadi Party after the party denied him ticket from Firozabad.

Baghel later contested against Akhilesh Yadav from Firozabad as BSP candidate. He later contested a by-election against Akhilesh's wife Dimple, who had lost against Congress' Raj Babbar.


Latest News from State News Desk