Nangal also resigned as in-charge of Hoshiarpur Lok Sabha constituency.

The BSP leader said on Tuesday that he had stepped down on moral grounds after party's poor performance in the polls.

The Mayawati-led BSP failed not only to win any of the 13 Lok Sabha seats in Punjab, but also conceded much of the ground held by it earlier to the new entrant AAP, which sprang a surprise by winning four seats in the SAD-BJP ruled state.

"I have sent my resignation. However, I will continue to work as a loyal soldier of the party as a common worker," he said.

Nangal was Halqa in-charge for Hoshiarpur LS seat from where party candidate Bhagwan Singh Chauhan got drubbing and polled merely 40,497 votes, ending at fourth position while APP's Yamini Gomar polled over two lakh votes, ending at third spot.

During the previous Lok Sabha elections, BSP candidate Sukhwinder Sukhi had polled over one lakh votes from this seat.

BSP founder president, late Kanshi Ram had also contested and won from Hoshiarpur seat.


Latest News from Punjab News Desk