BJP candidate Siddharth Kuncolienkar won the by-election by a margin of 5,368 votes defeating his immediate rival and Congress nominee Surendra Furtado.

Kuncolienkar polled 9,989 votes against Furtado who secured 4,621 votes. Independent candidate Sameer Kelekar polled 624 votes and Sandip Vaigankar polled 140 votes.      

"People have given me a mandate. It is now my responsibility to fulfill their aspirations. It's a big
responsibility but I am sure I will not prove people wrong," Kuncolienkar told reporters after the results were announced.

"I will continue working for the people," he said.
The by-polls were held on February 13. A total 71 percent turnout was reported by the Chief Electoral Office.

Panaji seat was vacant since November, 2014 after former Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar resigned following his elevation as Defence Minister in the Narendra Modi led cabinet.

It is dominated by BJP since 1994, when Parrikar got elected for the first time.

Also, counting of votes is underway for the by-polls to five other assembly constituencies in West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh and Maharashtra amid tight security. Counting is also being held for Bongaon (SC) seat in West Bengal.

Read More: By-poll verdict: Vote counting underway in six states amid tight security

Central armed police forces and state police have been deployed at the respective counting centres.

The election was held on February 13 for Krishnaganj (SC) Assembly constituency in West Bengal; Panaji Assembly seat in Goa; Srirangam Assembly seat in Tamil Nadu; Tirupati Assembly seat in Andhra Pradesh; and Liromoba Assembly constituency in Arunachal Pradesh.

Latest News from State News Desk