Though the poll scenario presents a multi-corner contest, the battle of the ballot will be between AIADMK's nominee S Valarmathi and DMK's N Anand, even as BJP and CPI(M) are trying their luck.

The Election Commission has made all arrangements for the peaceful conduct of the bypoll, in which an estimated 2.70 lakh electorate are expected to exercise their franchise across 322 polling stations.

The outcome could well impact the political alignment for the next year's assembly elections and be a test for the ruling party's popularity, which won 37 out of the 39 Lok Sabha seats in Tamil Nadu last year.     

Police have made elaborate security arrangements to ensure trouble free voting.

The votes will be counted on February 16.

Latest News from State News Desk