The Assembly seats are Saharanpur City, Bijnor,Thakurwara, Noida, Nighasan, Lucknow East, Hamirpur, Charkhari, Sirathu, Balha and Rohania, Chief Electoral Officer Umesh Sinha told reporters here.

He said by-poll is also being held for Mainpuri Lok Sabha seat, which was vacated by SP supremo Mulayam Singh Yadav.

The Assembly seats fell vacant after 10 BJP MLAs and one belonging to its ally were elected to the Lok Sabha.

The CEO said micro observers have been deployed at all polling centers and arrangements of web casting have been made at 176 sensitive polling stations.

He also said that for free and fair election, personnel of central forces have been deployed.

While BSP is not contesting the bypoll, Congress and SP have fielded candidates in all the Assembly seats. BJP is contesting on 10 and its ally Apna Dal one.

BSP and Congress have not fielded their candidates in Mainpuri, where the contest is between Mulayam's relative Tej Pratap Singh and Shiv Singh Shakya of BJP.

Latest News from Uttar Pradesh News Desk