Chandigarh: The three week-long campaigning for 117-seat Punjab Assembly ended this evening with ruling SAD-BJP alliance and opposition Congress putting their best foot forward to wrest power in the January 30 polls.

 The campaigning by and large remained peaceful in the state which saw national leaders including Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, Congress president Sonia Gandhi, General Secretary Rahul Gandhi, BJP leaders L K Advani, Nitin Gadkari, Arun Jaitley, Rajnath Singh, Uma Bharti and BSP Chief Mayawati crisis-cross the state.

Besides Chief Minister Parkash Singh Badal and his son Deputy Chief Minister Sukhbir Singh Badal, the other campaigners included Team Anna members who, however, did not advocate in favour or any political party confining their campaign to corruption and setting up of a strong Lokpal.

Film and TV actors Hema Malini, Shatrughan Sinha, Rajesh Khanna, Kirron Kher and Samriti Irani and a host of local singers and actors, including Gurdas Mann, Harbhajan Mann and Gurpreet Ghuggi besides cricketer-turned-politicians Navjot Sidhu and Mohd Azharudin added to the colour.

The other leaders who visited the state included Union Ministers Ambika Soni and Ghulam Nabi Azad, Himachal Pradesh Chief Minister Prem Kumar Dhumal, former Chief Ministers of Rajasthan and Haryana Vasundhara Raje Scindia and Om Parkash Chautala, respectively.

Leaders of Left and other parties, including Brinda Karat and Sitaram Yechury, also toured the state which will see a total of 1,078 candidates, including 93 women, in fray.

About 1.76 crore voters, including 83.61 lakh women, will seal the fate of the candidates at 19,841 polling stations, including five identified as "hyper sensitive" and 32 as "sensitive".

Besides Punjab Police personnel, about 200 companies of central paramilitary forces will be deployed in the state to ensure free and fair polling.

Most of the 117 Assembly seats will witness a triangular contest among the ruling SAD-BJP alliance, main opposition Congress and the Sanjha Morcha.

The Morcha includes the Left parties and People's Party of Punjab (PPP) led by Chief Minister Parkash Singh Badal's estranged nephew Manpreet.

Prominent among those in fray include Badal (Lambi), his predecessor Amarinder Singh (Patiala City) and their sons Sukhbir (Jalalabad), Raninder (Samana) besides another former CM Rajinder Kaur Bhattal (Lehra).

Civil servants D S Guru, Principal Secretary to the CM and P S Gill, DGP, who resigned and retired respectively shortly before the elections have filed their nominations from Bhadaur and Moga.

The other notable contestants include Manpreet (Gidderbaha and Maur), his father and Badal senior's younger brother Gurdas (Lambi) and his cousin Mahesh Inder (Lambi), former Deputy Speaker Bir Devinder Singh (Mohali), turncoat Balwant Singh Ramoowalia (Mohali), former Industries Minister and senior BJP leader Manoranjan Kalia (Jalandhar) and former SGPC chief Jagir Kaur (Bholath).

In the 2007 elections, Shiromani Akali Dal had won 49 seats and its alliance partner BJP got 19 to annex power from the Congress.

While the Congress had then bagged 44 seats, the remaining five seats went to the Independents. The security deposit of 798 candidates was forfeited in the 2007 polls.

Of the major contestants, the SAD had got a vote share of 37.09 percent in 2007 as against 31.08 percent in 2002. Its alliance partner BJP got a vote share of 8.28 percent in 2007 against 5.67 percent in 2002.

The Congress had got a vote share of 40.90 percent in 2007 as compared to 35.81 percent in 2002.

The counting of votes of Monday's election will take place on March six.