Polling in the fourth phase will take place in the seven districts of Muzaffarpur, Siwan, Sheohar, West Champaran, East Champaran, Sitamarhi and Gopalganj where an estimated 1.47 crore electorate are eligible to cast vote in 13,535 polling stations to select their representatives from among 776 candidates in the fray.
Among prominent personalities who are in the fray in the fourth phase are senior ministerial colleagues of Chief Minister Nitish Kumar-- Ramai Ram (Bochaha, SC seat), Ranju Geeta (Bajpatti) and Manoj Kushwaha (Kudni).
Considering the results of last Assembly elections in 2010, stakes are high for BJP in the fourth phase of polls. While BJP had won 26 out of the total 55 seats of this phase in 2010, JD(U) had emerged victorious in 24, RJD 2 and Independents 3.
Lalu Prasad-led RJD has fielded its candidates from a maximum 26 constituencies this time followed by JD(U) 21 and Congress 8. From NDA, BJP has fielded its nominees in 42 seats, LJP of Ramvilas Paswan in 5 and Hindustanti Awam Morcha and Rashtriya Lok Samata Party (RLSP) 4 each.

With India-African summit keeping Prime Minister Narendra Modi away from a major part of electioneering for the 4th phase, the onus fell on BJP President Amit Shah and Finance Minister Arun Jaitley.
Shah, who addressed half a dozen rallies on an average in the past three days, added to the already boiling political pot with his remark at an election rally at Raxual in East Champaran on  Thursday that if BJP loses in Bihar, firecrackers will be set off in Pakistan.
He had appealed to the people to ensure BJP's victory 'so that disappointment descends in Pakistan'.
The remark evoked strong reaction from rivals who termed it as an 'attempt to communalise the elections' and the grand secular alliance delegation moving the Election Commission against the 'attempt to communalise' polling in fourth and fifth phases of elections in constituencies which have a sizeable Muslim population.

Latest News  from Bihar News Desk