Lucknow: The campaigning for the second phase of UP polls to be held on February 11 will come to an end on Thursday. The second phase covers 59 seats in Sant Kabir Nagar, Maharajganj, Gorakhpur, Kushinagar, Deoria, Azamgarh, Mau, Ballia and Ghazipur.

At least 19294568 voters will decide the fate of 1099 candidates in this phase of elections.

The second phase would test the fate of many senior leaders, including speaker Sukhdeo Rajbhar, revenue minister Phagu Chauhan, state presidents of BSP and BJP, deputy leader of SP Ambika Chaudhary, 31 MLAs and 24 former ministers.

The candidates list includes jailed mafia don Mukhtar Ansari (of Quami Ekta Dal, contesting from Mau and Ghosi), Upendra (SP candidate from Phephana in Ballia), Javed Iqbal (BSP candidate from Kushinagar.) Aman Tripathi, son of SP MLA Amarmani Tripathi, facing jail term in poetess Madhumita murder, is in fray for Nautanwa seat in Maharajganj district.

Vidhan Sabha speaker Rajbhar would be contesting from newly created Deedarganj seat in Azamgarh district, whereas deputy leader of SP in assembly Ambika Chaudhary would be seeking a rerun from Phephna in Ballia.

While BSP state president and cabinet minister Swami Prasad Maurya would be contesting from Padrauna seat in Kushinagar, BJP state president Surya Pratap Shahi has been named party candidate for newly created Pathardeva seat in Deoria district.

Former BJP state president Ramapati Ram Tripathi would contest from Siswan seat in Maharajganj district, whereas Revenue Minister Phagu Chauhan would contest from Ghosi seat in Mau district.

The Election Commission has provided 22222 electronic voting machines (EVMs).

(JPN/ Bureau)