Lucknow: The campaigning for the third phase of UP polls to be held on February 15 will come to an end on Monday. The third phase covers 56 seats 10 districts of Faizabad, Allahabad, Varanasi and Vidhyanchal region.

Ten districts where polling would be held on Wednesday are Chhatrapati Sahuji Nagar, Sultanpur, Kaushambi, Allahabad, Jaunpur, Chandauli, Varanasi, Sant Ravidas Nagar, Mirzapur and Sonebhadra.

More than 1.75 crore voters will decide the fate of 1,029 candidates, including 77 women who are in fray for the third phase elections.

The third phase would test the fate of many senior leaders like former Assembly Speaker Kesri Nath Tripathi, BSP ministers Nand Gopal Gupta and Indrajeet Saroj and Samajwadi Party leader and former Principal Secretary of state Assembly, Rajendra Prasad Pandey. 

During the 2007 Assembly elections, the BSP had proved its supremacy by winning 31 seats. While the SP won 11 seats, the BJP six, Congress 3 and JD (U) won one.

(JPN/ Bureau)