Marin, who won five World Superseries titles, held off competition from China's Zhao Yunlei, Saina and China's Bao Yixin. "I thought Zhao would win it because she's had a great year as well," she said with a broad smile.

"I'm very happy, because it's affirming that you did something great during the year."

The BWF Player of the Year awards were given at the Players' Reception and Gala Dinner, held in honour of the assembled players, sponsors, officials and other guests to the Dubai Superseries Finals.

China's Chen Long retained the Male Player of the Year award that he won last year. His young compatriot Zheng Si Wei was acknowledged as the Most Promising Player of the Year. Korea's Lee Sam Seop and Norway's Helle Sofie Sagoy won the Para-Badminton Player of the Year awards in the male and female categories respectively.

Latest News from Sports News Desk