New Delhi: Election for the next President will take place on July 19 and the new occupant of the Rashtrapati Bhavan will be known on July 22, two days before the term of the incumbent Pratibha Patil ends.

Announcing the schedule here, Chief Election Commissioner V S Sampath on Tuesday said the notification for poll will be issued on June 16.

Last date of nomination will be June 30 and date of scrutiny July 2, he said, adding nominations can be withdrawn by July 4.

Polling will take place on July 19 and counting of votes will take place on July 22, Sampath told a crowded press conference.

Secretary Genral Rajya Sabha is appointed as Returning Officer.

The electoral college for the Presidential poll is 4896, constituting 776 Members of Parliament and 4120 Members of Legislative Assemblies, including those of Delhi and Puducherry. The total value of votes is 10,98,882 with that of MLAs being 5,49,474 and that of MPs being 5,49,408.

Nominated members of Lok Sabha, Rajya Sabha and state Assemblies are not entitled to vote.


Latest news from India News Desk