Following a series of quick resignations from Governors in various states across the nation, the NDA government appointed the new Governors for the vacant positions in all the five states.

The names of the new Governors are: Ram Naik (Uttar Pradesh), Balramji Dass Tandon (Chhattisgarh), Keshari Nath Tripathi (West Bengal) and Om Prakash Kohli (Gujarat), a Rashtrapati Bhavan communique said.

An official communique said the appointments of Naik, Tandon, Tripathi and Kohli "will take effect from the dates (they) assume charge of their offices".

A separate communique said Acharya has also been asked to discharge the functions of the governor of Tripura, where incumbent Vakkom Purushothaman has resigned.

Senior Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader and former petroleum minister Ram Naik’s name was confirmed on Sunday.

The veteran leader earlier on Sunday said that the party leadership had approached him to accept the post of Governor of Uttar Pradesh, to which he agreed.

"I was asked by my party to accept the position of the Governor of UP and I said yes. It is a challenging job and I am accustomed to doing challenging jobs," Naik said.

Naik will replace BL Joshi, who demitted office after the NDA government decided to replace Governors appointed during the previous UPA tenure.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Home Minister Rajnath Singh are said to have discussed the issue of appointment of Governors two days ago and shortlisted the names, sources said.

Following the change of guard at the Centre and the new regime's pressure, five Governors have already resigned. They are BL Joshi (Uttar Pradesh), M K Narayanan (West Bengal), Shekhar Dutt (Chhattisgarh), Ashwani Kumar (Nagaland) and BV Wanchoo (Goa).

Two Governors - HR Bhardwaj (Karnataka) and Devanand Konwar (Tripura) - retired late last month, while a few days ago, Lt Governor of Puducherry Virendra Kataria was sacked by the government.

Gujarat Governor Kamala Beniwal was transferred to Mizoram and Mizoram Governor Vakkom Purushothaman shifted to Nagaland for the remainder of their term.

However, unhappy with the transfer, Purushothaman has resigned from the post.

A few other Governors appointed by the previous UPA regime, however, continue to remain in office despite the NDA government's pressure.

They include K Sankaranarayanan (Maharashtra), Sheila Dikshit (Kerala), Jaganath Pahadia (Haryana) and Shivraj V Patil (Punjab).
Kerala Governor Sheila Dikshit and Maharashtra Governor Sankaranarayanan too may be transferred to Northeastern states, the sources said.


Latest News from India News Desk