The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has confirmed appointment of former Union minister Ram Naik as the new Governor of Uttar Pradesh.

One the other hand, according to West Bengal Department of Home sources, Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh has held talks with Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee regarding appointment of senior BJP leader VK Malhotra as the state’s new Governor.

Former Uttar Pradesh speaker Kesri Nath Tripathi, former Bhopal MP Kailash Joshi and senior party leader from Punjab Balaram Das Tandon are said to be the other four persons whose names have been recommended for appointment as Governors.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Home Minister Rajnath Singh are said to have discussed the issue two days ago and shortlisted the names, they said.
Veteran BJP leader Naik said in Mumbai that the party leadership had approached him to accept the post of Governor of Uttar Pradesh, to which he agreed.
"I was asked by my party to accept the position of the Governor of UP and I said yes. It is a challenging job and I am accustomed to doing challenging jobs," Naik said.
If appointed, Naik will replace BL Joshi, who demitted office after the NDA government decided to replace Governors appointed during the previous UPA tenure.
Following the change of guard at the Centre and the new regime's pressure, five Governors have already resigned. They are BL Joshi (Uttar Pradesh), M K Narayanan (West Bengal), Shekhar Dutt (Chhattisgarh), Ashwani Kumar (Nagaland) and BV Wanchoo (Goa).
Two Governors - HR Bhardwaj (Karnataka) and Devanand Konwar (Tripura) - retired late last month, while a few days ago, Lt Governor of Puducherry Virendra Kataria was sacked by the government.

Five senior Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leaders in the fray for the post of Governor
Former Union minister Ram Naik, ex-UP Assembly speaker KN Tripathi, BJP leader VK Tripathi are among those finalized

Names shortlisted by Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Home Minister Rajnath Singh: Sources

Gujarat Governor Kamala Beniwal was transferred to Mizoram and Mizoram Governor Vakkom Purushothaman shifted to Nagaland for the remainder of their term.
However, unhappy with the transfer, Purushothaman has resigned from the post.
A few other Governors appointed by the previous UPA regime, however, continue to remain in office despite the NDA government's pressure.
They include K Sankaranarayanan (Maharashtra), Sheila Dikshit (Kerala), Jaganath Pahadia (Haryana) and Shivraj V Patil (Punjab).
Other names doing the rounds for the post of Governors are former Lucknow MP Lalji Tandon, former BJP leader from Kerala O Rajagopal and veteran party leader from Himachal Pradesh Shanta Kumar.
Name of former Attorney General Soli Sorabjee is also doing the rounds for appointment as Governor.
Kerala Governor Sheila Dikshit and Maharashtra Governor Sankaranarayanan too may be transferred to Northeastern states, the sources said.


Latest News from India News Desk