Greater Noida: The farmers who sustained injuries during violence over land acquisition at Bhatta-Parsaul villages in Greater Noida were awarded compensation by Union Minister of State V Narayanasamy here on Thursday. The Minister distributed cheques to 110 farmers, who sustained minor and major injuries in the violence.

Some of the farmers protested over the issue as their names were missing from the list of beneficiaries.

Earlier, Prime Minister Manmohan Singh had announced on May 21 to give Rs 50,000 to seriously injured farmers and Rs 10,000 to those who suffered minor injuries.

Instead of taking the list of injured farmers from the district administration, the PM had sent his own delegation to prepare the list of injured persons.

V Narayanasamy along with the former chairman of Rabupura city panchayat reached the village where the compensation was given to 48 seriously injured and 62 persons with minor injuries, under the Prime Minister's Relief Fund.

It may be noted that two policemen and three farmers died in the violent clash on May 7 at Bhatta Parsaul village.

District Magistrate, Senior Superintendent of Police including several other police officers sustained injuries in the clashes. The state government had given ex-gratia to the family of police officers who lost their lives, whereas no compensation was given to the family of farmers who died in the conflict.