Shimla: The Chief Electoral Officer of Himachal Pradesh Narinder Chauhan on Thursday briefed representatives of political parties about the model code of conduct which would remain in force from October 3 to December 24 in view of the Assembly polls.
He said that as per the instructions issued by the Election Commission, Flying Squads, Video Surveillance Teams, Static Surveillance Teams had been constituted in each assembly constituency for greater transparency and monitoring of election expenditure.

Chauhan said election expenditure limit has been fixed at Rs 11 lakh per constituency which included campaigning like public meetings, public rallies, posters, banners, vehicles and advertisements in print or electronic media.

Items which were not permitted under the law were distribution of money, liquor and any other item to woo the electors.
Meanwhile, BSP today announced its decision to contest all 68 seats and released the first list of 32 candidates.
BSP general secretary and Rajya Sabha member Narinder Kumar Kashyap said the names of remaining candidates would be released soon.


Latest News from Himachal Pradesh News desk