Meerut: ABVP and SP's students’ wing on Wednesday won two seats each in the students union election at the Chaudhary Charan Singh University held after a gap of six years while Congress' NSUI suffered a washout.

Sanjeev Kumar of BJP's youth wing ABVP bagged the post of union president while his Meenal Gautam also of ABVP won as Vice-President.

The Samajwadi Yuvjan Sabha's Anuj Kumar and Sachin Kumar were elected as general secretary and and joint secretary respectively. Independent candidate Nitin Kumar was elected as treasurer, according to election officer Proveen Chandra Lohni.

The polling was held amid tight security. The victorious candidates were escorted by police to their homes. They vowed to work for the betterment of students.


Latest News from Uttar Pradesh News Desk